A passionate team!

On February 1, 2016, Nicolas Nadeau and Jean Therrien set up an innovative R&D laboratory: the MI LAB. Since then, several collaborative projects responding to the market need have been carried out, which has led to the registration of 8 pending patents and 2 patents. With operations slowing down, mainly in the automotive industry, the MI LAB team relaunched a project that was on hold after “hitting a wall”. On May 17, 2021, Jean and his new teammate Mario Binette pooled their know-how and set out on a quest for solutions to make a “closed bubble” part in injection. Initially, our method worked, but lacked control over the thickness of the wall. The next successful step was to over-mold PP and TPV. Already on June 17, a proof of concept with a curved part geometry continues to give hope. Then, a working prototype of a gasket was made and confirms that our technology does work! Victory! Now ready to make a prototype for a future automotive platform! This technology allows for better durability and waterproof performance.

This success is due to the complementarity between Jean and Mario. Jean brings 40 years of machining knowledge including 15 years as a machinist, 20 years of supervision, and 5 years at MI LAB. Mario, as he himself, has 26 years of experience in processes, mold maintenance, styrofoam transformation ... He is self-taught, manual, but above all, he has a thirst for learning. Together, they have the expertisecuriosity, and a common goal that leads them to overcome any challenge!

One of their next project: to develop molds for more aesthetic, more lustrous parts. With the support of the engineering team, they are confident and want to prove once again that creativity and team synergy can make the unthinkable work. Inspiration for the rest of MI TEAM!

Information:

MAUDE CHAREST

maude.charest(a)mi-integration.com

0 Shares

SUBSCRIBE
TO OUR
NEWSLETTER

STAY TUNED TO FOLLOW OUR DEVELOPMENTS AND OUR LATEST NEWS.

SUBSCRIBE NOW

SHOPPING CART
There are no products in the cart!
CONTINUE SHOPPING

Une équipe de passionnés!

Le 1er février 2016, Nicolas Nadeau et Jean Therrien ont mis sur pied un laboratoire innovateur de R&D : le MI LAB. Depuis, plusieurs projets collaboratifs répondant au besoin du marché ont été réalisés, qui a mené à l’enregistrement de 8 brevets en instance et 2 brevets. Avec le ralentissement des opérations, principalement au niveau de l’industrie automobile, l’équipe du MI LAB a relancé un projet qui était en arrêt après avoir ‘’frappé un mur’’. Le 17 mai 2021, Jean et son nouvel coéquipier Mario Binette ont mis en commun leur savoir-faire et se sont lancés dans la quête de solutions pour faire une pièce ‘’bulle fermée’’ en injection. Initialement, notre méthode fonctionnait, mais manquait de contrôle sur l’épaisseur du mur. La prochaine étape réussie a été de surmouler du PP et TPV . Déjà le 17 juin, une preuve de concept avec une géométrie de pièce courbée continue de donner espoir. Ensuite, un prototype fonctionnel d’un joint d’étanchéité a été fait et confirme que notre technologie fonctionne bel et bien! Victoire! Maintenant fins prêts pour faire un prototype pour une future plateforme automobile! Cette technologie permet une meilleure performance de la durabilité et l’étanchéité.

Cette réussite est due à la complémentarité entre Jean et Mario. Jean apporte 40 ans de savoir en usinage dont 15 ans comme machiniste, 20 ans de supervision et 5 ans au MI LAB. Mario, tant qu’à lui, a 26 ans d’expérience dans les procédés, maintenance de moule, en transformation de styrofoam… Il est autodidacte, manuel, mais surtout il a une soif d’apprendre. Ensemble, ils ont une expertise, une curiosité et un but commun qui les mènent à surmonter tous les défis!

Un de leur prochain projet : développer des moules pour des pièces plus esthétiques, plus lustrées. Avec le support de l’équipe d’ingénierie, ils sont confiants et souhaitent prouver encore une fois que la créativité et une synergie d’équipe arrivent à faire fonctionner l’impensable. Une inspiration pour le reste de MI TEAM!

Renseignements:

MAUDE CHAREST

maude.charest(a)mi-integration.com

0 Shares

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS
À NOTRE
INFOLETTRE

Restez connecté pour suivre notre évolution et nos dernières nouvelles.

ABONNEZ-VOUS MAINTENANT

SHOPPING CART
There are no products in the cart!
CONTINUER À REGARDER